To Make

picture book

TO MAKE, pictures by Mags DeRoma, is my first picture book.

To Make is a guide to inspire every kid (and everyone!) to make. It celebrates the process and perseverance of creativity while encouraging readers to "keep making."

You can get a copy of To Make anywhere books are sold, like from your local, independent bookstore, via Indiebound, or at Bookshop!

 

'Sure to inspire all sorts of creativity.' — Booklist

'Kids and parents will want to read this book again and again.' — L.A. Parent

'A visual feast.' — Publishers Weekly

 

From HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen Books:

A stunning picture book ode to the joys of the creative process and the spirit of collaboration. This lyrical story from Danielle Davis and Mags DeRoma is perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Gyo Fujikawa, and Julie Fogliano.

To make . . . a cake, a garden, a song, you first gather, then make—and wait. To make a story (like this one), you gather, make, wait.

To make anything—big or small—it will take some time.

You may have to gather more, make more, and wait a little more, but you can create wonderful things if you just gather, make, and wait.

This gorgeous, timeless book gently emphasizes patience as part of the making process and is a fitting book for all homes, classrooms, and makerspaces everywhere.

 

 

 

 

Download a special, printable "To Make a..." activity here.

And this printable Maker Ribbon craft tutorial!

Plus, EVERYONE IS A MAKER, a classroom and library companion guide for To Make. Download a color copy of this guide here or a black & white copy here.

And, learn to play the "To Make" song by Emily Arrow! Or take a listen! Download song chart here.

 

Sign up for my newsletter!